The USC SSC Constitutional Convention (ConCon) gathered for its first juncture at the Damayan Hall, Law Building, Downtown Campus last October 1, 2016.

USC SSC ConCon was created by the SSC ad hoc Committee on Constitutional Review and Reform (CCRR) to review, amend and/or revise the 2001 SSC Constitution. It aims to oversee, clarify and change the number of irregularities in the current constitution, and to guarantee that a draft Constitution would be attained by the end of the year. It is also independent from the SSC.

Discussed in the afternoon’s session were the specific provisions, objectives, and technicalities of the process to be able to carry out the revision efficiently in the upcoming sessions. Particular methods and house rules were then discussed to provide preceding outputs of the constitution after every session.

The timeline of the schedule of upcoming sessions and meetings of the convention was also laid out. And as suggested by the CCRRthe tentative date of ratification is on December 15.

The 26 delegates for the 2016 ConCon were representatives from the seven collegiate councils, political parties Tingog, STAND, and SPP, International Students sector, Today’s Carolinian, USC-COMELEC, Conglomeration of Student Organizations (CSO) and Supreme Student Council (SSC).

Among these representatives, an election for the position of Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary and Sergeant at Arms, and Sub-Committee heads was supposed to be convened. However, with the minimal quorum of delegates, interim officers were elected in the session. The following officers will temporarily manage the convention:

Chairman: Ryle Catigan

Vice-Chairman: Denise Albarina

Secretaries: Quejarra de Asis and Isa Villarojo

Sergeant at Arms: Venz Palabrica

The second conventional session is set to transpire on October 17, 2016 where the election for the permanent set of officers will also be conducted. The eight Constitutional Convention Committees will also be established on that date.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *